Competitor comparison

Chaingateway vs Tatum: Pricing, Chains and Webhooks Compared

Tatum sells blockchain infrastructure on credits with a free plan. Chaingateway is a payments API with flat monthly plans. Both compared on pricing model, chains, webhooks and wallet keys — every Tatum fact sourced.

7-day free trial — no card, no KYC to start Non-custodial — private keys stay under your control Plans start at €49/month (€490/year) — view plans and rate limits

If you are weighing Tatum against Chaingateway, this page puts them side by side on the points that decide a payments integration: how you are billed, what the entry price is, whether there is a free option, how many chains each covers, and how webhooks and wallet keys work. Tatum clearly wins some rows — chain count and a permanent free plan — and Chaingateway wins others. Every statement about Tatum is taken from Tatum's own website and linked below.

Two products, two positionings

Tatum
“Enterprise-Grade Blockchain Infrastructure”

Tatum's homepage lists blockchain RPCs, smart wallets, a blockchain data API, Web3 notifications and a crypto price API. Its stated headline subtitle: "Get everything you need to power modern blockchain applications."

Chaingateway
“The Unified Blockchain API for Crypto Payments & Webhooks”

One REST API to send tokens, detect deposits and trigger webhooks for on-chain events — built for production teams. Aimed at solo developers, bootstrappers and small payment teams.

Tatum vs Chaingateway side by side

Competitor details as listed on their websites on 5 Nov 2026: tatum.io/pricing and tatum.io. Prices, limits and plans change, so check the source before you decide. Chaingateway details come from our pricing page and the API reference.

FeatureTatumChaingateway
PositioningInfrastructure platform: blockchain RPC, data API, notifications, smart wallets and price API ("Enterprise-Grade Blockchain Infrastructure").Unified REST API for crypto payments and webhooks: create addresses, send tokens, detect deposits.
Pricing modelCredit-based subscription, billed monthly, yearly or for two years. Unused credits do not roll over. At your limit you are upgraded to the next tier automatically (can be switched off).Four flat monthly plans (Plus, Pro, Premium, Enterprise) with fixed limits for transactions, wallets, webhooks and requests. Past a limit the API returns an error asking you to upgrade.
Entry priceFree plan, then paid plans from $49/month (Starter, 4M credits). Optional dedicated API keys with guaranteed throughput from $99/month (10 requests/s).€49/month (Plus), or €490/year, which is two months free. Higher plans: €99, €249 and €499/month.
Free optionYes, a free plan: 100K lifetime credits, 2 API keys, 3 requests/s on full nodes, 100 notifications/month, 5 subscriptions.No permanent free plan. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial — no card, no KYC to begin.
Chains"130+ blockchains" for RPC on the homepage; "100+ blockchain protocols" in other copy.7: Bitcoin, Ethereum, TRON, Solana, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum. The same API on every plan.
WebhooksYes, under Web3 Notifications ("Easy-to-use Webhooks"). The free plan includes 100 notifications/month.On six chains (Bitcoin, Ethereum, TRON, BSC, Polygon, Arbitrum), not on Solana. Failed notifications can be retried on demand through the API.
Wallet keysSmart Wallets: "Create MPC wallets, sign transactions, sponsor gas". The custody model is not stated on the pages we read.Described as non-custodial. Two wallet modes: password-protected (the key is stored encrypted, the password is never stored) or unsecured (the API hands you the private key).
Paying the subscriptionBank transfer and card. Crypto payments are listed as "currently" in development.Subscription billing supports a crypto payment method (for example USDT on TRON).
Beyond paymentsRPC nodes, blockchain data API, crypto price API, smart wallets, notifications.Focused on payments: addresses and wallets, token transfers, deposit webhooks, plus per-chain block and transaction lookups.

Where a cell says a detail is not stated, it was not on the pages we read on 5 Nov 2026 — it does not mean Tatum lacks it.

Choose Tatum or Chaingateway?

Choose Tatum if …
  • You need a blockchain outside Chaingateway's seven — Tatum's pages state 130+.
  • You want a permanent free plan to prototype on (100K lifetime credits, usable "forever" per their pricing page).
  • You need more than payments: RPC node access, a blockchain data API, price data or MPC smart wallets.
  • You want a dedicated API key with guaranteed throughput (from $99/month for 10 requests/s).
Choose Chaingateway if …
  • Your core job is crypto payments: deposit addresses, token sends and webhooks on Bitcoin, Ethereum, TRON, BSC, Polygon or Arbitrum.
  • You prefer a flat EUR price with limits stated in transactions, wallets, webhooks and requests over a credit balance.
  • You want to pay your subscription in crypto.
  • You want to test for 7 days with no card and no KYC, with the same API on every plan.

FAQ: Chaingateway vs Tatum

Tatum sells credit-based subscriptions (monthly, yearly or two-year terms) plus a free plan with 100K lifetime credits. As listed on 5 Nov 2026, unused credits do not roll over and you are upgraded to the next tier automatically when you hit your limit, unless you turn that off. Chaingateway sells four flat monthly plans with fixed limits and returns an error when a limit is reached. Credits and transactions are different units, so compare both against your own expected volume.

No. Tatum lists a free plan with 100K lifetime credits. Chaingateway offers a 7-day free trial on every plan, with no credit card and no KYC to begin testing, but no permanent free tier.

Tatum. Its pages state 130+ blockchains for RPC (and 100+ elsewhere). Chaingateway supports seven: Bitcoin, Ethereum, TRON, Solana, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon and Arbitrum, with the same API on every plan.

Yes. Tatum lists webhooks under Web3 Notifications, with 100 notifications/month on the free plan. Chaingateway offers webhooks on six of its seven chains (not Solana), and failed notifications can be retried on demand through the API.

Test Chaingateway against your own volume

Create an account and run your own payment flow on testnet — 7-day trial, no card, no KYC. Compare the limits on the pricing page, or see the multi-chain blockchain API for all seven chains.

Reviewed by Maurice Sobiera How we write these pages